St Mary's Mill, Chalford
One of the most picturesque mills in the Stroud Valleys. The main mill dates largely from the 19th century although there was a fulling mill here in 1548. These buildings have been used for flock, woollen cloth and walking stick manufacture.
It retains an imposing but static waterwheel and a Tangye steam engine which was working until the 1960s. Reportedly it is the largest of its type in its original position. There are occasional open days and an electric motor drive now turns the steam engine over. With a long history dating back to the Middle Ages St Mary’s is an excellent example of how the countryside was once busy with industry.